Fighting Hunger Together: VolunteerMatch and Walmart Foundation Team Up to Kick Hunger to the Curb

VolunteerMatch and Walmart Foundation, Fighting Hunger TogetherIn today’s economic environment, the work nonprofits are doing to fight hunger is more important than ever. That’s why VolunteerMatch helps these organizations to find thousands of volunteers who share the sense of urgency, compassion and care that’s needed to help those who go to bed hungry at night.

The Walmart Foundation also recognizes the importance of our nation’s hunger-fighting organizations. And today, with funding provided by the Foundation, we’re excited to announce a new program to give hunger-related nonprofit organization more support for their missions.

No Cost Access to VolunteerMatch’s Premium Tools

From now until June 2013, hunger-related organizations will automatically be upgraded, at no cost, to VolunteerMatch’s most effective volunteer recruiting and management tools.

Just a few of the benefits of these tools include: Custom Questions to ask potential volunteers about their interest and availability; Document Manager to automatically send additional details to every prospect; and Reposting to keep opportunities right at the top of search results.

We call these premium tools our Community Leader service, and you can learn more about it here.

A New Training Series on Hunger-Related Volunteer Engagement

Because knowledge and tools are the best way to build real capacity to make change, we’ve developed a new series of free web trainings specifically for organizations that mobilize volunteers in the fight against hunger.

Below are some upcoming webinars in February, and stay tuned for more dates and topics soon:

Make the Most of Your VolunteerMatch Account
(2/16, 8 am PST/11 am EST)

Create Compelling Opportunities on VolunteerMatch
(2/23, 11am PST/2 pm EST)

Put Volunteer Groups to Work!
(2/29, 10 am PST/1 pm EST)

Your Input Requested (and Win a Free iPad 2)

Finally, if your nonprofit works to solve hunger, we would love to hear more about your organization, how you engage volunteers, and what we can do to better serve you. If you have a few minutes right now, would you please complete a short survey? As a way of thanking you, we’ll give one lucky respondent a free iPad 2.

To complete the survey, please click here.

(Reminder: only hunger-related organizations are eligible to win the prize.)

The launch of “Fighting Hunger Together” marks a new era in the war against hunger, and with the Walmart Foundation and your help, we can make sure that no American will ever have to face a day wondering where his or her next meal will come from.

Related Posts with Thumbnails

3 thoughts on “Fighting Hunger Together: VolunteerMatch and Walmart Foundation Team Up to Kick Hunger to the Curb

  1. Pingback: Why Does CSR Matter? Why Does It Matter Now? | Philanthropegie

  2. I am the Volunteer Administratr for The Salvation Army of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan. I also recruit and manage the volunteers for the greater Milwaukee area. We have a summer mobile feeding program that runs for 10 weeks eac summer. This program utilizes hundreds of volunteers through out the summer and meets a need of helping hungry children in Milwaukee.

  3. running school for orphans &destitute in Kenya and would like to get assistance of any kind to be able to contract better classes &sanitary facilities which are in very poor conditions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>